A welcome

I was encouraged on the weekend, to “welcome”.  To think about how I was welcomed as a new Christian, and to welcome new Christians in the same way.  (This was the topic of the sermon at church.)

“Welcome” connects directly into orthodox Christian theology.  We are welcomed into Jesus, and we welcome Jesus into us.  Think John 15:4:

“Abide in me as I abide in you.  Just as the branch cannot bear fruit by itself unless it abides in the vine, neither can you unless you abide in me.”

The welcome I have in mind, is of corporate worship.  I am for deep Christian worship.  (And I have an interest in contemporary music…)

I am into experience, if the into, is Jesus Christ.  And He in us.

I welcome, into this worship.

The picture of the church, around the world, is vital.  The church is the body of Christ.  And there is celebration in the fact.  (And as we come to appreciate Jesus and His church, in more depth, the celebration increases.)  And there is also pain, for the church is also in pain.

 

And the celebration is conscious of the God with the long-term plan.  And so, turn up the bass, and be ready to roll

One thought on “A welcome

Leave a Reply

